Packed auto insurance policies that include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection are recommended by car accident attorneys in Las Vegas to help ensure drivers are covered if they are involved in a crash.
Nevada Minimum Liability Insurance Is Not Enough
Nevada drivers are required to carry motor vehicle insurance that pays for personal injuries and property damages experienced by the other party. State statutes require individuals to carry a minimum of $15,000 in coverage for a single person’s bodily injuries, and $30,000 for all people who may be injured in a collision. Individuals must also carry $10,000 in property damage coverage.
$15,000 and $30,000 may seem sufficient, but data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows that the average medical expenses from a significant crash can top $48,000. If the accident involves Traumatic Brain Injuries, amputation, fatality, or other serious long-term causing trauma, those expenses can easily reach into the millions.
How Much Car Accident Insurance Do Drivers Really Need?
For adequate protection, it’s advisable to carry between $300,000 to $500,000 in coverage for each accident, with a minimum of $100,000 for bodily injury for a single person. The policyholder should also have $100,000 for property damage coverage.
Liability insurance, however, does not cover injuries suffered by the policyholder. Packed auto insurance policies that include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection are invaluable if: the at-fault driver flees the scene, is not insured, or does not have enough insurance to cover the other driver’s injuries and those of passengers.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UIM)
In Nevada, approximately 12% of drivers don’t have auto insurance and most of those who do don’t have enough coverage. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can pay for injuries if a driver is hit by someone without insurance or someone without adequate coverage. This type of insurance also pays if the at-fault driver flees the scene of a crash.
Personal Injury Protection (MedPay)
Nevada drivers are not required to carry MedPay, but it is important coverage to secure. MedPay covers medical expenses and lost wages for the driver and passengers regardless of who is at fault for the accident. Pedestrians and bicyclists who are struck by vehicles are also covered. Although coverages vary, PIP policies may also cover childcare and household expenses and even provide death benefits if someone is killed.